Macroeconomic Environment

Looking back to 2018, expanding global economic outlook and strong exports drove Taiwan's sustained and rapid economic growth rate of over 3% in the first half of 2018. However, in the second half of year, continued trade disputes between the US and China, the increase in downside risks for major economies, and increased stock market shocks gradually made the global market outlook more conservative, which impacted Taiwan's exports and consumption momentum, especially when faced with the pressure of drastic decrease in foreign demand. Economic growth declined with each season, and the annual economic growth rate dropped from 3.08% to 2.63%.

Having experienced continuous growth from 2017 to 2018, the base period of the global economic outlook is high. Along with negative impacts such as the diminishing effects of the US tax cuts, continued trade disputes between the US and China, and tight monetary policies of major central banks, slow economic growth in 2019 has become an inevitable trend. In the future, the monetary policies of the US Fed and major central banks in Europe and Asia, the follow-up development of the US-China trade war, and political and economical development of Europe and rising markets will be the three major economic focuses in 2019.

With the slow global economic growth, it is expected that the Taiwan's financial industry environment will face tough challenges in 2019. On the other hand, a series of policy support and loosened financial regulations from the FSC, is expected to bring more business opportunities to the financial industry and improve the innovative capabilities of products and services. However, with rising standards for company governance, legal compliance, and anti-money laundering, operating costs will go up accordingly, so the financial industry needed to become careful when providing relevant financial services, which will strengthen the competitiveness of Taiwan's financial industry.

Market Positioning and Competitiveness

In 2018, Fubon Financial Holdings’ four main subsidiaries were among the market share leaders in several business categories, as shown in the table below:


Subsidiary Item Market Ranking
(Overall/Private Banks)
Market Share
Fubon Life Total premium 2 15.5%
First year premium equivalent 2 14.3%
FYP through bancassurance 2 13.3%
FYP through tied agents 3 15.0%
First year premium 3 13.8%
Taipei Fubon Bank Loan Syndication 3/1 8.6%
Mortgage loan 5/2 5.9%
Loan balance of OBU and overseas branches 8/3 4.7%
Monthly per card spending (1) 2 NT$10,348
Fubon Insurance Commercial line 1 24.4%
Direct written premium 1 23.4%
Underwriting profits 1 NT$2.2bn
Personal line 1 23.0%
Fubon Securities Brokerage per branch(2) 1 0.14%
SPO amount 2 23.1% 2 23.1%
Emerging stock trading 2 22.8%
IPO amount 2 13.9%
Brokerage 3 6.0%

Note 1: Based on ranking of privately owned banks.
Note 2: Based on ranking of six credit card issuers with highest active card numbers

Looking ahead to 2019, the global economic slowdown and uncertainty over U.S.-China trade friction could hurt Taiwan’s manufacturing sector and the willingness to invest. Those factors, combined with financial market volatility and a conservative outlook for corporate earnings, will likely hinder the investment climate and consumer confidence and affect Taiwan’s domestic consumption and export growth. But increased public investment in infrastructure and policies to lure Taiwanese businesses operating overseas back to Taiwan could provide support for fixed investment.

總體環境分析

回顧2018年,隨全球景氣持續擴張,出口強力帶動,臺灣上半年經濟成長率維持在3%以上快速成長。但下半年來因中美貿易戰持續延燒、主要國家經濟下行風險擴增,以及金融市場震盪壓力加大,讓全球景氣展望逐步轉為保守,臺灣出口、消費動能也都同步受到衝擊,尤其面對外需大幅放緩壓力,經濟成長表現逐季放緩,全年經濟成長率由3.08%降為2.63%。

全球景氣歷經2017至2018年的連續成長後基期已高,加上美國減稅效應遞減,中美貿易戰延續,和主要央行緊縮貨幣政策等利空影響,各國經濟成長於2019年趨緩成為必然趨勢;未來美國聯準會、歐亞主要央行貨幣政策走向、中美貿易戰後續發展與歐洲、新興市場的政經情勢發展為2019年三大經濟金融觀察重點。

預期2019年,全球經濟成長趨緩下,臺灣金融業經營環境仍將面臨嚴峻的挑戰,另一方面,在金管會一連串政策支持及金融法規鬆綁下,預期可為金融業帶來更多商機,及提升產品與服務的創新能力,惟同時在公司治理、法令遵循及防制洗錢等標準日益提升下,經營成本也會對應增加,因此金融業在提供相關金融服務需更為謹慎,將有利於臺灣金融業競爭力之強化。

市場定位與競爭力

2018年富邦金控四家主要子公司之業務表現均居市場領導地位


    市場排名
全體銀行/民營銀行
市佔率/金額
富邦人壽 總保費 2 15.5%
初年度等價保費 2 14.3%
銀保通路(首年度保費基礎) 2 13.3%
業務通路(首年度保費基礎) 3 15.0%
初年度保費 3 13.8%
台北富邦銀行 聯貸金額 3 8.6%
房貸餘額 3/1 5.9%
OBU及海外分行放款餘額 5/2 4.7%
信用卡每卡月平均簽帳金額 (1) 2 NT$10,348
富邦產險 企業保險業績 1 24.4%
直接簽單保費收入 1 23.4%
核保利潤 1 22.2%
個人保險業績 1 23.0%
富邦證券 證券經紀單點(2) 1 0.14%
SPO承銷金額 2 23.1%
興櫃交易金額 2 22.8%
IPO承銷金額 2 13.9%
證券經紀業務 3 6.0%

註:(1)前六大發卡行排名,以有效卡為基礎;(2)前十大券商排名說明:資料統計期間截至2018年12月


展望2019年,受到全球景氣趨緩及中美貿易談判不確定性之影響,國內製造與投資意願下降,加上金融市場波動,企業獲利展望保守,讓投資氣氛、消費信心更加保守,影響臺灣民間消費及出口成長。另一方面,政府擴大基礎建設及政策推動吸引台商回流,應可為固定投資帶來支持。