Business Model

About Fubon Financial Holdings

Fubon Financial Holdings-The Benchmark for Taiwanese Financial Institutions in Greater China

Intent on becoming one of Asia’s first-class financial institutions, Fubon Financial Holdings offers the most complete and diversified line of financial products and services in the industry through its many subsidiaries, including Fubon Life, Taipei Fubon Bank, Fubon Bank (Hong Kong), Fubon Bank (China), Fubon Insurance, Fubon Securities and Fubon Asset Management. All of these subsidiaries are leaders in their fields. As of the end of 2017, Fubon Financial Holdings had total assets of NT$6.91 trillion, rising 8.9% from 2016, the second most of any domestic financial holding company, and was serving more than 10 million customers. Net profit was NT$54.12 billion for the year, the highest in the industry for the ninth consecutive year.

A Diversified Group Full of Leaders in Their Fields

The Fubon Group got its start in 1961 when Fubon Insurance (formerly Cathay Insurance) began operations as Taiwan’s first private general insurer. As the government progressively deregulated the country’s financial services sector beginning in the late 1980s, Fubon applied to establish investment services, securities, banking, asset management, life insurance and bills financing units. At the end of 2001, Fubon Financial Holdings became the first financial holding company in Taiwan to go public, and its product portfolio was soon recognized as the most extensive in the financial services sector.

Fubon’s subsidiaries are all standouts in their respective fields. Fubon Insurance has the top-ranked market share in the property & casualty insurance field at over 20%; Fubon Life is the top3 largest life insurer in Taiwan; Taipei Fubon Bank is one of Taiwan’s biggest privately run banks; and Fubon Securities has the third highest brokerage market share for spot trading on Taiwan’s equity markets.

The main businesses and profit models of these four subsidiaries are detailed below:

Subsidiaries Main Businesses Profit Models Key Activities
Taipei Fubon Bank
  • Institutional banking
  • Retail banking
  • Overseas subsidiaries
  • Interest income
  • Fee income
  • Investment income
  • Human resources management
  • Risk management
  • Funds management
  • Product and services management
  • Channel management
  • Customer relationship management
  • Market oversight and compliance
Fubon Life
  • Life insurance
  • Health insurance
  • Injury insurance
  • Annuity insurance
  • Underwriting profits
  • Investment income
Fubon Insurance
  • Auto insurance
  • Health/injury insurance
  • Commercial fire insurance
  • New types of insurance
  • Marine insurance
  • Home fire insurance
  • Engineering insurance
  • Underwriting profits
  • Investment income
Fubon Securities
  • Brokerage business
  • Proprietary trading
  • Underwriting business
  • Fee income
  • Investment income

2017 Operating Performance

The world economy has steadily recovered in 2017. Capital in the market is abundant. Overall profit in the financial industry this year is higher than the previous year. The subsidiaries of Fubon Financial Holdings have also shown outstanding operational results. As of the end of 2017, Fubon Financial Holdings garnered a net profit of NT$54.12 billion, or NT$5.19 per share, the highest in the industry for the ninth consecutive year. The ROA (return on assets) and ROE (return on equity) of Fubon Financial Holdings remained steady at 0.81% and 11.83%, respectively. Assets under the management of Fubon Financial Holdings continued to grow, rising 8.9% from 2016 to reach NT$6.91 trillion as of December 2017, the highest in the Company’s history and the second highest among domestic financial holding companies.


Learn More about 2017 Operating Performance >

商業模式

關於富邦金控

富邦金控-領先佈局兩岸三地 台資金融機構標竿

以「成為亞洲一流的金融機構」為發展願景的富邦金控,旗下主要子公司包括富邦人壽、台北富邦銀行、富邦銀行(香港)、富邦華一銀行、富邦產險、富邦證券及富邦投信等。擁有最完整多元的金融產品與服務,經營績效耀眼,位居市場領導地位。至2017年底止,富邦金控資產總額達6.91兆元,較2016年成長8.9%,續創歷史新高水準,客戶數逾千萬人,為臺灣第二大金融控股公司。2017年富邦金控稅後淨利為541.2億元,每股盈餘(EPS) 5.19元,連續9年臺灣金控業每股盈餘第一。

金控佈局多元 子公司均為業界翹楚

1961年成立的臺灣第一家民營產物保險公司-富邦產物保險(原名國泰產險),是富邦集團的起點。配合臺灣1980年代末期開始的金融自由化政策,富邦陸續申請成立投顧、證券、銀行、投信、人壽、票券等金融機構。2001年底,富邦金控掛牌上市,為臺灣第一家上市且產品線最齊全的金控公司。

富邦金控旗下各子公司均居業界翹楚,富邦產物保險市場佔有率逾20%,穩居市場第一;富邦人壽為臺灣前三大壽險公司;台北富邦銀行是臺灣最大的民營銀行之一;富邦證券台股現貨經紀市占率排名市場前三大。四家子公司主要業務及獲利模式摘要如下:


子公司 主要業務 獲利模式 關鍵活動
台北富邦銀行
  • 法人金融業務
  • 個人金融業務
  • 海外子行業務
  • 利息收入
  • 手續費收入
  • 投資收益
  • 人力資源管理
  • 風險管理
  • 資金管理
  • 產品與服務管理
  • 通路管理
  • 客戶關係管理
  • 市場監理與法規遵循
富邦人壽
  • 壽險
  • 健康險
  • 傷害險
  • 年金險
  • 核保利潤
  • 投資收益
富邦產險
  • 車險
  • 健康傷害險
  • 商業火險
  • 新種險
  • 水險
  • 住宅火險
  • 工程險
  • 核保利潤
  • 投資收益
富邦證券
  • 經紀業務
  • 自營業務
  • 承銷業務
  • 手續費收入
  • 投資收益

2017年營運績效

2017年全球經濟穩健復甦,市場資金充裕,金融業整體獲利普遍較前一年度成長,富邦金控旗下各子公司也交出亮麗的經營成績單,2017年富邦金控稅後淨利達541.2億元,每股盈餘5.19元,連續九年蟬連臺灣金融業每股獲利龍頭。富邦金控資產報酬率(ROA)及股東權益報酬率(ROE)分別為0.81%和11.83%,維持穩健水準。富邦金控總資產持續穩健成長,至2017年12月達6.91兆元,較2016年成長8.9%,續創歷史新高水準,穩居國內第二大金控公司。


更多2017年營運績效資訊 >