Promoting Honest Lending

Promoting Honest Lending

Taipei Fubon Bank
  • Comprehensive credit approval procedures and lending monitoring help maintain and bolster asset quality, promote sound banking operations, and help enterprises maintain steady operations, thereby ensuring the security of credit assets and indirectly safeguarding the rights and interests of depositors.

Management Strategy

Strategy for Institutional Credit Management

  • Establish a credit evaluation system
  • Conduct independent reviews
  • Exposure limit management
  • Implement Credit Administration (CA)
  • Establish an early-warning system for problem loans
  • Strengthen non-performing-loan Management

Credit Management Strategy for Retail Banking

  • Manage approval authorities and procedures for authorized exceptions
  • Optimize ratings/rating models and collateral management
  • Monitor, manage, and verify credit ratings and rating models
  • Monitor subsequent credit risk after finalizing a deal

Sustainability and Risk Management Strategies

  • Integrate core concepts of the Equator Principles
  • Incorporate CSR issues such as climate change, environmental pollution, and labor-management relations into credit evaluation criteria

Capital Investment

Financial Capital

  • TWD Customer Deposits: NT$1.141 trillion
  • Foreign Currency Customer Deposits: NT$514 Billion

Human Capital

  • Integrated revisions to internal credit risk models
  • Revamped the Sustainability Risk Assessment Approval Form
  • Incorporated the Equator Principles into credit evaluation procedures in order to reinforce sustainability and risk management

Capital Output

Financial Capital

  • Interest income on loans: NT$30 billion
  • LDR for TWD accounts: 81.8%
  • LDR for foreign currency accounts: 37.1%
  • Interest spread: 1.34%
  • NPL ratio: 0.2%

Intellectual Capital

  • Increased modeling accuracy (achieved a model prediction rate of 86.8%–89.7% as of year-end 2016)
  • Incorporated ESG guidelines into evaluation criteria on a case-by-case basis

Natural Capital

  • Provided a total of NT$9.89 billion in outstanding loans to green industries, accounting for 1.89% of all outstanding loans to enterprises
  • Fubon's credit card rewards program for promoting sales of green energy products resulted in total cash rewards of NT$128,700

Executive Summary

Taipei Fubon Bank's lending policy is characterized by a commitment to our Honest Lending strategy, which emphasizes comprehensive credit approval procedures and lending monitoring to help maintain and increase asset quality, promote sound banking operations, and help enterprises maintain steady operations, thereby ensuring the security of credit assets and indirectly safeguarding the rights and interests of depositors.

Establishment of Working Teams and Major Items of Discussion in 2016

In 2015, Fubon Financial Holdings established the Corporate Governance and Sustainability Committee, under which the ESG Task Force was set up and overseen by an independent director. The Committee also includes the Responsible Finance team (credit), which is tasked with promoting the Honest Lending program and mainly consists of members drawn from the Institutional Banking Department, Retail Lending Department, and Credit Card Division. Senior executives are also appointed to serve as working team committee members and are responsible for summarizing the process of responsible lending initiatives put in place by relevant departments and reporting their findings to the ESG Task Force on a regular basis.

To respond to global trends in sustainable lending and further fulfill the Taipei Fubon Bank's corporate social responsibility, meetings were held by the ESG Task Force in 2016 to discuss topics and issues related to the Equator Principles, the Responsible Finance team (credit) conducted research on relevant rules and frameworks of the Equator Principles, and an assessment on joining the Equator Principles Association was made. In the future, Fubon will seek a goal to join the Equator Principles Association in order to increase our positive influence in the financial industry.

Formulating and Promoting Effective Management Policies

Taipei Fubon Bank's credit risk strategies for overseas branches place an emphasis on comprehensive credit approval procedures and lending monitoring to help maintain and increase asset quality and reduce losses arising from non-performing loans and investment positions. In addition to setting up risk management units at each branch, dedicated staff are assigned to handle various tasks including credit analysis, review procedures, post-loan reviews, collection, and claims management. Furthermore, to respond to heightened concerns among global institutional investors regarding whether companies account for sustainability risk from sources such as climate change, environmental degradation, labor-management disputes, and other CSR issues, Taipei Fubon Bank has also moved to incorporate environmental, social, and governance (ESG) guidelines into its evaluation criteria. Taipei Fubon Bank conducts its credit-related business based on the five basic principles of security, liquidity, equality, revenue, and growth along with the five principles of credit analysis: people, purpose, payment, protection, and perspective (the 5 Ps).

Credit risk management strategies for institutional banking include the following

(1) Establishing a credit evaluation system:
Inspections are regularly conducted to examine the validity of the Taipei Fubon Bank internal credit risk models and expert scoring forms and applicability of the internal credit evaluation system, and inform ongoing adjustments to the credit evaluation mechanism. Meanwhile, critical concepts such as probability of default (PB), loss given default (LGD), and credit exposure limit (CEL) are incorporated into routine risk management for greater effectiveness.

(2) Conducting independent reviews:
To maintain the quality of credit assets and adhere to the 5 Ps of credit analysis, approving supervisors (senior-level) go beyond segmenting customers and conducting separate reviews at the Bank’s head office. They are also assigned to regional centers to make their review more efficient and enhance the professional competencies of their loan officers. This rigorous top-down monitoring process has helped manage credit risk more effectively.

(3) Coordinating exposure limit management:
In order to comply with the regulations stipulated under the Banking Act of the Republic of China and to avoid concentration risk arising from an over-concentration of credit assets, the Bank set loan ratio limits for single institutions, affiliates, and group enterprises and formulated lending restrictions based on industry type, country, and property development financing. These measures also serve to reduce the risk of negative chain reactions that could be caused by a single incident or a potential economic downturn.

(4) Implementing a credit administration system:
The implementation of a credit administration (CA) system provides a control and responsibility-based framework for handling outstanding loans, thereby reducing associated lending risks.

(5) Establishing early-warning indicators for problem loans:
In order to effectively implement control measures for outstanding loans, the Bank has established rules for follow-up reviews and early-warnings. The rules require follow-up reviews to be conducted on a regular basis and outline reporting procedures for major adverse events to prevent or quickly identify changes in the quality of credit assets.

(6) Non-performing-loan management:
Aside from collection processes for routine cases, collections personnel provide support services during the initial debt recovery process in the form of legal advice and negotiation assistance to help sales units resolve problem accounts.

To achieve more comprehensive risk assessments and fulfill the Bank's corporate social responsibility, Taipei Fubon Bank continued reinforcing relevant rules and regulations in 2016, incorporated ESG guidelines into evaluation criteria on a case-by-case basis, and made revisions to internal credit risk models where necessary to improve modeling accuracy (a model prediction rate of 86.8%–89.7% was achieved as of year-end 2016) and optimize system functionality. Among thenew functionality added were dynamic management reporting, cross-integration of information from different systems, and establishment of folders based on commonly used model versions.These boosted the effectiveness of the system and increased the Company's overall operating efficiency.

Credit risk management strategies for retail banking

(1) Manage of Approval Authorities and Procedures for Authorized Exceptions

  • Risk-based segmentation is executed based on various dimensions such as customer segmentation, real estate segmentation, loan type, and business growth sources to reinforce the Company's ability to identify risks and make use of differentiation strategies for credit terms and credit analysis procedures, thereby enabling the Bank to attract more premium customers.
  • Scientific credit scoring models are utilized to increase credit risk management effectiveness and boost the speed and efficiency of our review procedures. In addition, data analysis techniques help prevent problems before they occur and ensure stable asset quality.

(2) Optimize Ratings, Rating Models, and Collateral Management

  • Continued to optimize the Bank's credit management framework, implemented segmentation and differentiation strategies, simplified credit analysis procedures and required documents for low risk customer groups, and focused credit analysis resources on higher risk customers.
  • Rules for determining real estate categories can be dynamically adjusted and the frequency of reviews can be increased based on changes in real estate market conditions. Specific property areas under duress may be categorically downgraded as needed in order to main greater control over lending risks.

(3) Monitor, Manage, and VerifyCredit Ratings and Rating Models

  • The borrower's application scorecard is regularly compared against manually reviewed data to check for discrepancies in order to improve the scorecard's effectiveness for identifying risks and to increase the validity of the risk score model.
  • The performance of credit scoring models is regularly monitored to establish risk groups and formulate strategic plans.

(4) Monitor Subsequent Credit Risk After Finalizing a Deal

  • A mechanism has been established for generating Credit MIS Reports which allows the Bank to immediately respond to changes in asset quality and have a basis for formulating relevant risk management strategies.
  • Implemented management controls for designating authorized exception limits in order to ensure that risk is kept within an acceptable threshold.

推動當責授信

當責授信

台北富邦銀行授信政策係致力於推動當責授信,著重在完善之授信審查程序及貸放控管機制,以維護及提升資產品質,從而促進健全銀行業務經營,並協助企業正常營運,以確保授信資產之安全,間接保障存款戶之權益。

工作小組組成及2016年重要討論事項

富邦金控自2015年設立公司治理及永續委員會,其下設由獨立董事擔任督導之ESG執行小組,其中推動當責授信隸屬於責任金融小組(授信),該工作小組成員主要包括法金授管部、個金授信商品處及信用卡處之相關人員,並指派高階主管擔任小組委員,彙整各相關單位對於責任授信之執行情形,定期於ESG執行小組會議進行報告。

因應國際永續發展貸款趨勢,並為進一步善盡銀行企業社會責任,2016年ESG執行小組會議中討論赤道原則議題,責任金融小組(授信)研究赤道原則相關規範,以及評估加入赤道原則協會,未來將以加入赤道原則協會為目標,積極發揮金融業之正向影響力。

管理政策制定與推動

台北富邦銀行營運活動範疇包含海外分行,其信用風險策略係著重於完善之授信審查程序及貸放控管機制,以維護及提升資產品質,降低不良授信或投資部位產生之損失,除設有風險管理單位外,另由專責人員負責執行徵信、審查、貸後管理、催收及債權管理等工作。另因應全球機構投資人高度關注企業是否重視氣候變遷、環境污染、勞資問題等企業社會責任相關議題所衍生的永續發展風險,台北富邦銀行授信業務亦將ESG(Environmental、Social、Governance)納入評量指標。台北富邦銀行辦理授信業務本安全性、流動性、公益性、收益性及成長性等五項基本原則,並依5P (People、Purpose、Payment、Protection、Perspective)審核原則核貸之。

法金之信用風險管理策略包括:

(1) 建立信評制度︰
定期檢視內部信用風險模型、專家評分表效度及內部信評制度之妥適性並持續推展信評機制,將違約機率、違約損失率、違約暴險額之概念納入日常風險管理中,以提升風險管理效能。

(2) 獨立審查:
為維護授信資產品質,依循5P審核原則核貸,除在總行依客戶型態分組分工進行專業審查外,另於各區域中心派駐(資深)審查主管以提升審查效率,並持續提升審核主管專業能力,透由源頭之嚴格把關以有效控管信用風險。

(3) 風險限額控管︰
為符合銀行法規定及避免授信資產過度集中之風險,本行除對單一法人、關係企業及集團企業訂有淨值比例上限外,亦針對行業別、國家別及土建融訂定承作上限,以降低單一事件或景氣變化時可能引發連鎖效應之衝擊。

(4) 推行授信服務制度(CA,Credit administration)︰
透過推行CA制度,以建立核後動撥作業之控管及專責制度,降低授信作業風險。

(5) 建立貸後預警機制︰
為有效進行貸後控管,本行訂有覆審及預警作業規範,透過依規定期覆審及重大事件之通報流程,以預防並及時掌握授信資產品質之變化。

(6) 逾催管理︰
除例行性之催收案件催理作業外,催收人員另以加強協助業務端不良案件處理方案之法律諮詢與協商談判等方式,提供初期債權回收有力的支持。

為完整考量風險及善盡銀行企業社會責任,台北富邦銀行2016年持續強化相關規範,將ESG納入逐案之評量指標,並進行內部信用風險模型改版,提升模型精準度(2016年底模型預測力為86.8%~89.7%),同時優化系統功能,包括:新增動態管理報表功能、不同系統之資料介接、建立常用版本資料夾等,藉以提升系統效能及增進作業效率。

個金之信用風險管理策略包括:

(1) 審核權限及例外核准程序管理

  • 明確風險區隔,從「客層分級」、「不動產分級」、「貸款類型」、「業務來源」等構面強化風險鑑別力,運用授信條件及徵審程序的差異化,吸引「優良顧客」與本行往來。
  • 運用科學化的信用評等評分模型提升授信風險管理效能,加速審查效率,並透過數據分析,防微杜漸,確保產品資產品質健全。

(2) 評等/評分模型及擔保品管理

  • 持續優化授信管理架構,落實分級與差異化策略,簡化低風險客群之徵審流程與文件要求,將徵審資源投注於較有疑慮之案件。
  • 視房地產市場景氣變化動態調整不動產分區規範並提高檢視頻率,針對壓力較大之區域適度調降不動產分區等級控管。

(3) 評等/評分模型驗證及監控管理

  • 授信戶定期評量「進件評分卡」與人工審查之差異性,使其更有效辨識風險,提升評分風險模組之風險辨識度。
  • 定期監控評分模型表現,規劃風險群組之訂立與策略應用。

(4) 承作業務後之信用風險監控

  • 建立完整的信用風險管理資訊報告(Credit MIS Report)機制,即時反映資產品質狀況,並作為制定風控策略之依據。
  • 落實例外核准比例之控管,確保風險控制於可容忍之範圍內。