Honest Lending

Policies, Action Plans and Outcomes of Honest Lending

One of the major staples of the financial services sector, the credit business, has traditionally focused on assessing credit, market and operational risk while generally ignoring the environment, social responsibility and other sustainability risks. More recently, however, domestic pollution and food safety problems have sparked debate about corporate social responsibility, and global institutional investors have shown much more concern about whether companies account for sustainability risk from such sources as climate change, environmental degradation, labor-management disputes and other CSR issues. In response to the "Honest Lending" strategy set forth in the "Fubon ESG Visioning Project" strategic blueprint, Taipei Fubon Bank has formulated a set of comprehensive lending standards which take into account ESG risks and opportunities in order to effectively boost the impact of Fubon's corporate social responsibility policies on the financial industry. Currently, Taipei Fubon Bank has formulated sustainable lending guidelines, incorporated ESG (Environmental, Social, Governance) guidelines into evaluation criteria for credit business and strengthened corporal governance in order to further fulfill Taipei Fubon Bank's corporate social responsibility and to complete Taipei Fubon Bank's risk management structure. In the future, Taipei Fubon Bank will continue to strengthen relevant systems in line with the international trends of sustainable loans.

Taipei Fubon Bank began in 2014 to establish regulations on sustainable development financing and the assessment of sustainability risk for corporate loans. These guidelines also cover monitoring the impact clients may have on society’s sustainable development during the loan period and helping them make improvements as necessary. The regulations were established and made effective in June 2015. Based on the sustainable lending guidelines, a client’s sustainability risks such as environmental footprint, ethical management practices and CSR commitment were incorporated into credit risk appraisals. This has not only tied the core competencies of the financial sector to Fubon’s CSR commitment but has also spurred clients to see environmental preservation and corporate social responsibility as important to their operations. In order to further realize Taipei Fubon Bank's emphasis on the ESG-related policies, in June 2015, the decision was made to apply to join the Equator Principles Association. After officially becoming a member bank of the Equator Principles Association in December 2017, Taipei Fubon Bank has revised the risk management mechanism of important outstanding loan projects, actively promoted adjustments in the relevant operating procedures, and implemented internal education and training pursuant to the regulations in the Equator Principles.

More details of the Equator Principles compliance are disclosed in the following Taipei Fubon Bank’s official website:
https://www.fubon.com/banking/about/en/ep/principle.htm


Based on the sustainable lending guidelines, a client's performance in the following categories shall be reviewed:

  • Whether the client's main business activities seriously harm the environment or adversely affect sustainable development, such as: gambling activities (not including gambling for public interest); arms dealing; tobacco; radioactive substances; tropical rain forest logging; non-bonded asbestos; PCBs; and driftnet fishing; and any activity involving the illegal use of child labor.
  • Businesses operated by clients are assessed to determine whether they are high pollution industries (mining, dyeing and finishing/leather manufacture, printed circuit board, eletroplating, chemical materials, and pulp and paper industries); If yes, the client should provide supplementary information on its state of compliance with waste water and exhaust emissions regulations and related plans on pollution prevention.
  • Inspections of records of major environmental penalties imposed.
  • The client is assessed to determine whether it is of material risk to social sustainability, including but not limited to inspections on issues in integrity management, violations of the law by the person-in-charge, and suspension of work/business operations.
  • Whether the business with the client complies with the regulations of the Equator Principles in the case that such business belongs to the scope of the Principles.

In order to effectively implement these rules, sales agents at Taipei Fubon Bank who handle applications on behalf of institutional clients applying for credit must complete a "Sustainability Risk Assessment Approval Form" for each application (in 2017, a total of 6,356 such assessments were made), which includes evaluating the client's significant environmental and social risks. Enterprises which are found to have violated environmental regulations, ethical management practices or corporate social responsibility guidelines resulting in a major adverse impact on sustainable development are subject to lending restrictions: In cases where, due to an environmental infraction, an enterprise's operations are suspended, a major penalty is assessed, a conviction occurs in a court of first instance, or the company violates a legal order and the verdict is to suspend production or cease operations, Taipei Fubon Bank may not engage in any new loan cases with the company. In the case of existing loan accounts, after a report has been issued in accordance with Taipei Fubon Bank's Regulations Governing the Handling of Major Incidents, the account is handled in accordance with a determination made by senior management. Since the implementation of the sustainable lending guidelines in 2015, so far outstanding loans amounting to a total of more than US$160 million were phased out as a result of violations of Taipei Fubon Bank's internally-formulated sustainable lending guidelines. The decision not to engage in new loan cases was based on the fact that the client was involved in gambling, tobacco or significant environmental issues and adversely affected sustainable development of the environment and the society.

In November 2017, pursuant to the policy of Fubon Financial Holdings, the business of securities investment and transactions was incorporated into the scope of sustainable risk evaluation. Business departments at Taipei Fubon Bank who handle applications related to securities business must complete a "Sustainability Risk Assessment Approval Form (securities investment and transactions)" for each application, which includes evaluating whether the investing or trading subject's main business activities seriously harm the environment or adversely affect sustainable development. If the subject is found to have violated environmental regulations or have caused significant harm to the public safety resulting in a major adverse impact on sustainable development, the subject shall be subject to investment restrictions.

After joining the Equator Principles Association, in 2018, Taipei Fubon Bank will fully realize the Principles in the lending policies in order to continue to strengthen the credit risk management mechanism of significant financing projects so that the identification, evaluation, categorization, review, post-loan control and other relevant management measures can comply with the regulations of the Equator Principles, thereby reducing the adverse effect that such significant financing projects may have on the environment and society as well as spurring clients to stress environmental preservation and corporate social responsibility in their operations.

Green Financing

In view of the world's continued push toward green finance, in 2018, Taipei Fubon Bank issued green bonds (with the first issuance of two-year green bonds at a value of NT$1 billion completed in March 2018) in support of solar energy, wind power generation, clean energy and related industries, with the aim of leveraging our positive role in the financial industry and thereby helping Taipei Fubon Bank to effect a bigger impact in helping industries pursue sustainable development.

Taipei Fubon Bank continues to promote and expand loans to projects in green energy/energy conservation industries, thereby underscoring our dedication to fulfilling Taipei Fubon Bank's corporate social responsibility. Taipei Fubon Bank introduced loans to projects in green energy/energy conservation industries in September 2015 and continues to expand on these loans, in order assist companies to invest in environmentally friendly products, energy-saving equipment, development of green manufacturing systems and pollution reduction, as well as to encourage consumers to buy green buildings, eco-friendly products and appliances with energy-saving labels.

Special project loans Description and results in 2017
Institutional Banking Financing for Certified Green Buildings
  • Special project loans featuring preferential financing conditions are provided to construction companies to build "green buildings."
  • As of year-end 2017, a total of approximately NT$1.5 billion in financing has been authorized.
Energy Conservation Financing Scheme – Loans to Integrated Energy Service Companies (ESCOs)
  • Special project loans available for energy-saving engineering projects in which the amount saved on electricity bills is used to repay the loan.
  • As of year-end 2017, a total of approximately NT$50 million in financing has been authorized.
Loans for solar energy photovoltaic system projects
  • Special project loans available for the installation of solar panels; income obtained from the sale of the power generated used to repay the loan.
  • As of year-end 2017, a total of approximately NT$730 million in financing has been authorized.
Retail Banking Financing for Green Energy Equipment and Green Buildings
  • Loans with preferential terms available for buying “green” or energy-saving equipment, or for Bank customers with mortgages on green buildings.
  • In 2017, a total of approximately NT$280 million in new loans were made.

Taipei Fubon Bank provided a total of NT$10.84 billion in outstanding loans to green industries, accounting for 2.04% (increased from 1.89%) of all outstanding loans to enterprises as of year-end 2017. An overview of such projects is as follows:

Green Industry Total SME Loans Outstanding, year-end 2017 (Thousand NTD) Proportion of Outstanding Loans to Enterprises as of year-end 2017 Total SME Loans Outstanding, year-end 2016 (Thousand NTD) Proportion of Outstanding Loans to Enterprises as of year-end 2016
LED 2,494,509 0.47% 3,776,922 0.72%
Solar energy 3,518,921 0.66% 3,974,755 0.76%
Bicycle (including components) manufacturing 603,437 0.11% 602,658 0.11%
Waste disposal / removal 2,061,210 0.39% 870,355 0.17%
Resource recycling and handling 2,091,858 0.39% 634,783 0.12%
Pollution management (including equipment manufacturing) 70,047 0.01% 29,431 0.01%
Total 10,839,982 2.04% 9,888,904 1.89%

推動領航投資

In order to help companies and consumers obtain funds for green investments, Taipei Fubon Bank will continue to promote and expand green energy, energy conservation, and green industry loans, as well as to use the capital derived from issuing green bonds or from joint lending cases to support the green energy industry and to facilitate the development of green energy, especially financing projects for the establishment of solar energy, wind power stations and the procurement of the related equipment. Such capital may also be used for the improvement in energy efficiency and energy conservation, the reduction of greenhouse gases, the recycling or reusing of waste materials, the saving, cleaning or recycling of water resources and other categories, thereby enabling Taipei Fubon Bank to fulfill its corporate social responsibility and jointly cultivate a greener society.

Action Plans and Results of Credit Card Sales Promotions

Action Plans Results in 2017
Increase proportion of redeemable points in the points exchange program for making cash donations to environmental education foundations and for purchases of more kinds of green energy products.
  • Redeeming points for making cash donations to environmental education foundations


    Starting from July 2017, a new donation option was added for the Taiwan Environmental Information Association, with a donation of NT$150 for each redemption of 2,000 points. The aim is to raise awareness of environmental protection. As of year-end 2017, a total of 160 redemptions were made.

  • Redeeming points for green products


    Starting from July 2017, the reward points/mileage redemption system has added a green products section, offering natural, non-toxic and environmentally friendly products for clients to redeem. Green products accounted for 5% of all products. As of year-end 2017, a total of 480 redemptions were made.

In line with the environmental protection policy, in July 2017, Taipei Fubon Bank added the option of redeeming points in the points exchange program for making cash donations to environmental education foundations and for purchases of green energy products, with the aim of combining reward points with environmental protection, and thereby raising awareness of environmental protection.

In 2018, Taipei Fubon Bank plans to continue increasing proportion of redeemable points in the points exchange program for purchases of more kinds of green energy products. Taipei Fubon Bank also plans to work with green products shops on a credit card purchase reward campaign to boost Taipei Fubon Bank's image as a supporter of green purchase and to help encourage more cardholders to do their part in environmental protection!

當責授信

當責授信之政策、行動方案及成果

授信業務是金融業的主要業務之一,過去多著重在信用、市場以及作業等風險之防範,而較忽略環境、社會責任等永續性風險之評估。近年來國內污染、食安問題引發企業社會責任之討論;全球機構投資人亦高度關注企業是否重視氣候變遷、環境污染、勞資問題等企業社會責任相關議題所衍生的永續發展風險。台北富邦銀行呼應「富邦金控永續經營願景工程」策略藍圖中的「當責授信」策略,建立完整考量ESG風險與機會的授信準則,期望有效發揮金融業對企業社會責任的影響力,目前已訂定永續發展貸款規範,授信業務亦將ESG(Environmental、Social、Governance)納入評量指標,強化公司治理,以善盡銀行之社會責任,並完備銀行風險控管架構,未來將依循國際永續發展貸款趨勢,持續強化相關制度。

台北富邦銀行自2014年起,陸續研議規劃相關永續發展貸款規範,對授信企業的永續性風險進行評估,並在授信期間定期檢視客戶可能產生對社會永續發展所造成的影響,進而引導並督促客戶進行改善,2015年6月完成訂定並實施。根據永續發展貸款規範,客戶對環境保護、誠信經營與企業社會責任的永續性風險評估納入信用風險評估項目,除金融業自身結合核心職能實踐企業社會責任外,更促使授信對象於經營上能重視環保與企業社會責任的實現。為進一步體現台北富邦銀行對於ESG相關政策的重視,2015年7月時擬定申請加入赤道原則協會,且於2017年12月正式成為赤道原則協會會員銀行後,配合赤道原則之規範,修訂重大專案融資之風險管理機制,並積極推動相關作業流程調整及內部教育訓練等配套措施。

有關遵循赤道原則之進一步說明,詳如下列台北富邦銀行官方網頁:
https://www.fubon.com/banking/about/ep/principle.htm


依永續發展貸款規範,應檢視客戶於以下各項之表現

  • 客戶主要營業項目是否為對環境或社會永續發展有重大不利影響的產業(如:非公益之博弈、軍火武器、煙草、放射性物質、熱帶雨林伐木業、非粘合石棉纖維、多氯聯苯、漂網捕魚業、涉及非法雇用童工等)。
  • 評估客戶之經營事業是否屬於高汙染產業(礦業、染整/皮革製造、印刷電路版、電鍍業、化學材料業、造紙業);若是,則客戶應就汙水廢氣排放之合規情形及汙染防治相關計畫提供補充說明。
  • 檢核客戶是否有重大環保裁罰。
  • 評估客戶對於社會永續性的重大風險,包括但不限於是否有誠信經營、負責人違法事件檢核、公司停工/停業檢核等。
  • 如往來業務係屬赤道原則之適用範圍,是否遵循赤道原則各項規範。

為落實上述規範,台北富邦銀行業務人員為法金客戶申請授信額度時,須逐案填寫「永續性風險評估檢核表」(2017年檢核案件數量為6356件),藉以評估客戶於環保及社會之重大風險,對於因違反環保法規、未盡誠信經營或社會責任,且對永續性發展影響重大的客戶,訂定相關承作貸款限制:如有因環保問題遭停工或重大罰款者,或涉訟遭一審判決有罪、違反法令遭停工/停業者,新戶應不予承作,舊戶應依本行重大事件通報流程進行通報後,並依批示結果辦理,自2015年實施永續發展貸款規範起,迄今因違反自訂之永續發展貸款規範而遭緩議之授信案金額合計逾USD 1.6億元,基於客戶涉及博弈業、菸草業、重大環保議題等情事,對環境與社會造成重大不利影響,故不予承作。

2017年11月配合富邦金控之政策,將有價證券投資暨交易業務納入永續性風險評估之範圍,故相關業務單位提出有價證券業務之相關申請時,亦須逐案填寫「永續性風險評估檢核表(有價證券投資暨交易)」,除檢視有價證券投資或交易對象之主要營業項目是否為前述對環境或社會永續發展有重大不利影響的產業,若該對象曾有重大違反環保法規、對公共社會安全造成重大危害等對永續性發展有重大負面事件,應受到投資額度申請的限制。

台北富邦銀行於加入赤道原則協會後,2018年將全面落實赤道原則於授信政策中,以持續強化重大專案融資案件的信用風險管理機制,使環境與社會風險的辨識、評估、分級、審核與貸後控管等相關管理措施得以遵循赤道原則的規範,以降低重大專案融資案件對環境與社會造成之不利影響,並促使授信對象於經營上能重視環保與企業社會責任。

綠色授信

面對全球綠色金融的浪潮,台北富邦銀行亦於2018年發行綠色債券(2018年3月已完成初次發行兩年期新台幣10億元之綠色債券),以積極支持太陽能、風力發電、清潔能源等相關產業,期盼能發揮金融業影響力,帶領產業追求永續發展。

台北富邦銀行持續推展綠能/節能相關專案貸款,以善盡銀行企業社會責任。為協助廠商將資金投入環保產品、節能設備、綠色生產機制及減少污染等用途,並為鼓勵消費者購買綠建築、環保產品或具節能標章之商品,自2015年9月起實施綠能/節能相關專案貸款,並持續推展中。

專案貸款 說明及2017年成果
法人金融 綠建築標章建築融資貸款
  • 提供建商興建「綠建築」之專案貸款,並提供優惠融資成數。
  • 截至2017年底,累計已核准約NTD15億元
節能貸款(整合型的能源服務業,ESCO)
  • 提供能源用戶節能改善工程之專案貸款,並以節能收入為還款來源。
  • 截至2017年底,累計已核准約NTD0.5億元
太陽能光電系統專案貸款
  • 提供購置太陽能板系統之專案貸款,並以售電收入為還款來源。
  • 截至2017年底,累計已核准約NTD7.3億元
個人金融 綠能設備貸款/綠建築貸款
  • 針對購買綠能/節能設備、綠建築建案之本行房貸客戶提供優惠貸款。
  • 2017年度新撥貸約NTD2.8億元

另,截至2017年底,台北富邦銀行承作綠色產業之融資餘額約NTD 108.4億元,佔企業融資餘額之比率自1.89%提高至2.04%,承作情形如下:

綠色產業 2017年底融資餘額(NTD仟元) 佔2017年底之企業融資餘額比重 2016年底融資餘額(NTD仟元) 佔2016年底之企業融資餘額比重
LED 2,494,509 0.47% 3,776,922 0.72%
太陽能 3,518,921 0.66% 3,974,755 0.76%
自行車(含零件)製造業 603,437 0.11% 602,658 0.11%
廢棄物處理/清除業 2,061,210 0.39% 870,355 0.17%
資源回收處理業 2,091,858 0.39% 634,783 0.12%
汙染整治(含其設備製造)業 70,047 0.01% 29,431 0.01%
合計 10,839,982 2.04% 9,888,904 1.89%

推動領航投資

為協助廠商及消費者取得資金用以支應綠色投資計劃,台北富邦銀行將持續推展綠能節能相關貸款、綠色產業貸款,並將利用發行綠色債券所募集之資金,或藉由聯合授信案件的籌組,扶植綠能產業,推動發展綠色能源,特別是太陽能、風力發電站建置及其相關設備購置之融資案件,亦得運用於能源使用效率提昇及能源節約、溫室氣體減量、廢棄物回收處理或再利用、水資源節約、潔淨或回收循環再利用等項目類別以善盡銀行企業社會責任,共同維護綠色家園。

信用卡促銷等之行動方案及成果

行動方案 2017年成果
提高信用卡紅利積點兌換環境保育基金會捐款金/綠能商品品項佔比
  • 紅利兌換環境保育基金會捐款金


    自2017年7月起,新增「社團法人台灣環境資訊協會」捐款品項,每2,000點可捐款NT$150,以期提升認同環保意識,截至2017年底,累計兌換量160份。

  • 紅利兌換綠色商品


    自2017年7月起,富邦兌好康設置綠色商品專區,提供天然無毒對環境友善之商品供卡友兌換,綠色商品品項佔比為5%,截至2017年底,累計兌換量480份。

台北富邦銀行響應環保政策,於2017年7月新增紅利兌換環境保育基金會捐款金及紅利兌換綠色商品品項,使紅利點數與環境保育結合,以期提升認同環保之意識。

2018年,台北富邦銀行擬持續提高信用卡紅利積點兌換綠色商品品項佔比,並規劃與綠色商品特約店家合作刷卡滿額贈活動,以提升台北富邦銀行大力支持綠色消費形象,號召卡友一起加入環保行列!