Sustainability Risk Management

  • Fubon Financial Holdings has instituted a robust risk management structure and sound risk management policies and regulations. In a report issued on Nov. 23, 2017, Taiwan Ratings Corp. noted that “Fubon Financial Holdings’ enterprise risk management is adequate and its risk controls strong” .
  • Continued to enhance management of emerging risk and climate change risk; in 2017, reports were presented to the Fubon Financial Holdings management team on the emerging risk topics of "Technological Risk: Data Fraud or Theft" and "Economic Risk: Asset Bubbles in Major Economies" and associated response measures as well as potential risks and opportunities caused by climate change.




Sound Risk Management Structure and Policies

Fubon Financial Holdings has established a sound risk management framework consisting of the Board of Directors, an Audit Committee, a Risk Management Committee under the chairman of the board, a Personal Information Protection Committee and a Risk Management Division. The board is responsible for overseeing the effective implementation of risk management systems and control mechanisms. The Audit Committee assists the board in supervising risk management practices.

The Company has formulated comprehensive risk management systems, policies, and rules encompassing the entire spectrum of risk management systems including market risk, credit risk, country risk, operational risk, asset and liability risk, liquidity risk, insurance risk, reputation risk, emerging risk, and climate change risk which are consistently followed by subsidiaries, ensuring that various types of risk are effectively identified, measured, monitored, and managed.

永續風險管理

Risk Management Model of Three Lines of Defense

The Company has adopted a risk management model which consists of three lines of defense, implemented comprehensive risk management, established relevant risk indicators, risk monitoring points, and an early-warning mechanism. In addition, the Company has formulated limit controls based on risk attributes and adopted a dual qualitative and quantitative approach to regularly evaluate various risks and also actively monitors and manages various types of significant risks, and risk management reports are presented to the Risk Management Committee, Audit Committee, and Board of Directors on a regular basis.

永續風險管理

Enterprise Risk Management (ERM)

Fubon Financial Holdings adopts an integrated enterprise risk management framework. The scope of risk management encompasses various risks including market risk, credit risk, country risk, operational risk, asset and liability risk, liquidity risk, insurance risk, reputation risk, emerging risk, and climate change risk. Fubon Financial Holdings’ enterprise risk management is adequate with strong risk controls.

永續風險管理

Enhancing Management of Emerging Risk and Climate Change Risk

Emerging Risk Management

The types of emerging risk and their frequency of occurrence are continuously increasing around the world. As a result, effectively identifying and assessing emerging risk and formulating response measures have become important issues for financial institutions to tackle. Each year, Fubon Financial Holdings references the Global Risks Report published by the World Economic Forum (WEF), examines and revises emerging risk assessment and management forms, and provides this information to subsidiaries so they can perform annual emerging risk assessments and establish corresponding risk response measures. The Company applies a bottom-up approach based on the emerging risk management procedures to compile emerging risks facing subsidiaries and establishes a list of emerging risks facing Fubon Financial Holdings. After conducting a thorough assessment, emerging risks are screened to determine those which could have an impact on Fubon Financial Holdings, risk response measures are formulated, and reports on these findings are presented to the management team.

In 2017, reports were presented on emerging risks facing Fubon Financial Holdings including “Technological Risk: Data Fraud or Theft” and “Economic Risk: Asset Bubbles in Major Economies”, and suitable risk response measures were formulated.


Risk Type Risk Impact Mitigation Measures
Technological Risk Data fraud or theft Data fraud or theft could result in data and personal information leaks, affect the Company’s information security and even trigger a corporate reputation crisis.
  • Advanced persistent threat (APT) prevention systems introduced to detect and prevent unknown malicious threats from the outside.
  • Big data analysis performed on data obtained through the information security management system to detect and reduce the risk of data fraud or theft.
  • Employees’ online behavior and data traffic volume are continuously analyzed; real-time reporting and blocking of suspicious actions help prevent data theft.
  • Steps taken to ensure that anti-virus software can prevent malware attacks; software added to personal computers to detect malware.
  • Encryption and content filtering mechanisms used in systems protecting e-mail and information security to prevent the leakage of personal information.
  • Social engineering prevention drills held regularly; information security/personal information training and controls strengthened; and simulations of emergency responses to personal information breach conducted.
Economic Risk Asset bubbles in major economies Asset bubbles in a major economy can lead to increased turmoil in financial markets (stocks, bonds, forex ), bringing the Company added risk and greater fluctuations in gains and losses, affecting its financial stability.
  • Sovereign credit ratings used to classify country risk, set country risk limits, and regularly monitor risk exposure levels.
  • Monitoring scope of financial markets expanded, off-hours real-time financial market warning mechanism extended to 24/7 coverage.
  • Forward-looking model created to estimate volatility of stocks, interest rates, exchange rates and products on a daily basis.
  • Diversified investment strategy adopted; various risk warning indicators and risk limits put in place and regularly monitored.
  • Value at risk, stress tests and other risk management mechanisms used regularly and results reported to the board of directors.

Climate Change Risk Management

The Global Risks Report 2017 published by the World Economic Forum (WEF) named climate change risk, which has been listed for several years in a row, as one of the top five risks that are likely to occur and can potentially have a significant impact.

Fubon Financial Holdings has formulated “Climate Change Management Principles” with an aim to actively promote measures on environmental protection, energy conservation, and carbon reduction, reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and promote green financial services to curb and adapt to the impacts of climate change. In addition, the Company established climate change risk management procedures and mechanisms in 2017, and incorporated them into its management principles. In addition, potential market condition changes induced by catastrophic events (e.g. earthquake, natural disaster) were added to scenario settings to simulate the impact of such events on equity risks, interest rate risks, and exchange rate risks. Stress tests were performed accordingly.

In 2017, the subsidiaries of Fubon Financial Holdings assessed potential risks posed by climate change and business opportunities, examined the risks caused by climate change, and proposed counter measures. In 2018, the subsidiaries went on to list the potential impact of each climate change risk on the Company (e.g. financial impact) as well as the plans and methods for the future. The subsidiaries assessed the effects of climate change in depth, and proceeded to strengthen and enhance climate change management on an ongoing basis.

永續風險管理

永續風險管理

  • 本公司已建置完備的風險管理組織架構與政策規章。中華信評公司(2017.11.23)報告指出:「富邦金控的企業風險管理允當且風險控管強健。」
  • 持續強化新興風險與氣候變遷管理,2017年金控層級之新興風險「科技風險-數據詐欺或竊取」與「經濟風險-主要經濟體資產泡沫」及回應措施暨氣候變遷可能帶來之風險與機會,皆已呈報管理階層。




完備的風險管理組織架構與政策規章

本公司已設置健全的風險管理組織架構,包括董事會、審計委員會、風險管理委員會、個人資料保護督導委員會及風險控管處。董事會治理監督本公司風險管理制度與機制有效運行;審計委員會協助董事會監督本公司風險管理事宜。

本公司已制訂完備的風險管理制度與政策規章,涵蓋市場風險、信用風險、國家風險、作業風險、資產負債暨流動性風險、保險風險、信譽風險、新興風險與氣候變遷等各類風險管理機制,子公司一致性遵循,有效辨識、衡量、監控與管理各類風險。

永續風險管理

三道防線風險管理

本公司採行三道防線風險管理模式,實施全面性風險管理,建立相關風險指標、風險監控點與預警機制,依風險屬性訂定限額控管,採行質化及量化併行方式定期評量各項風險,積極監控與管理各類重要風險,並定期向風險管理委員會、審計委員會及董事會呈報風險管理報告。

永續風險管理

企業風險管理(ERM)

本公司採行整合性的企業風險管理架構,風險管理範疇涵蓋市場風險、信用風險、國家風險、作業風險、資產負債暨流動性風險、保險風險、信譽風險、新興風險與氣候變遷等風險,本公司之企業風險管理允當且風險控管強健。

永續風險管理

強化新興風險與氣候變遷管理

新興風險管理

隨著全球新興風險的類別增多與發生機率上升,有效辨識評估新興風險並研擬因應措施為金融機構重要課題。本公司每年參考世界經濟論壇WEF所公布之全球風險報告,檢視修訂新興風險評估管理表,提供子公司進行年度新興風險評估並建立風險回應措施。依據新興風險管理程序,採取由下而上之方式,彙集子公司新興風險,建立金控層級新興風險清單並經評估後,篩選出金控層級新興風險及研擬風險回應措施呈報管理階層。

2017年已呈報之金控層級新興風險為「科技風險-數據詐欺或竊取」與「經濟風險-主要經濟體資產泡沫」並訂定妥適之風險回應措施。


風險類別 風險項目 衝擊 因應措施
科技風險 數據詐欺或竊取 數據詐欺或竊取,可能導致數據及個人資料外洩,影響公司資訊安全,並可能引發信譽危機
  • 導入進階持續性威脅(APT)防護系統,偵測與防護外部未知惡意威脅。
  • 持續透過資訊安全管理平台巨量資訊分析,偵測與降低數據詐欺或盜竊的風險。
  • 持續分析員工上網行為與傳輸流量狀態,及時通報與阻擋,防止數據盜竊。
  • 確保防毒軟體可防護惡意軟體攻擊,增加個人電腦惡意程式檢測軟體。
  • 透過電子郵件資料安全防護系統之加密及內容過濾機制,防止個人資料外洩。
  • 定期進行社交工程演練、加強資安/個資教育宣導、資訊安全控管,暨個資侵害事故之緊急應變計畫演練。
經濟風險 主要經濟體資產泡沫 主要經濟體資產泡沫可能導致金融市場(股、債、匯市)震盪加劇,造成本公司風險提升及損益波動加劇,影響財務穩定度
  • 依國家主權債信評等進行國家風險分級,訂有國家風險限額,定期監控暴險。
  • 擴大金融市場監控範圍,非營業時間金融市場狀況即時警示機制擴大為7天24小時全天候警示機制。
  • 建置前瞻式模型每日推算股票、利率、匯率及商品等金融指標預期波動度。
  • 採多元分散投資。訂有各項風險預警指標、風險限額並定期監控。
  • 定期執行風險值、壓力測試等風險管理機制,並呈報董事會。

氣候變遷管理

世界經濟論壇(World Economic Forum)發布之《2017年全球風險報告(Global Risks Report 2017)》,氣候變遷之相關風險已連續多年蟬聯重大可能發生及潛在重大影響之前五大風險。本公司已制定「氣候變遷管理原則」,積極推動各項環保節能減碳措施、減少溫室氣體排放量、推廣綠色金融服務等,以減緩與調適氣候變遷所帶來之營運衝擊。本公司2017年新增氣候變遷風險管理程序與機制,並將其納入管理原則。另針對巨災(如:地震、天災等)可能造成的市場波動進行風險情境設定,模擬事件發生對股權風險、利率風險與匯率風險等的衝擊,並進行壓力測試。

2017年金控各子公司已評估辨識氣候變遷可能帶來的風險與業務機會,檢視氣候變遷所帶來之風險,並提出因應措施。2018年更增列其氣候變遷風險項目可能對公司之影響(如:財務影響)及未來規劃與作法,深入檢視評估氣候變遷,持續強化與提升氣候變遷管理。

永續風險管理