Ethical Management Initiatives

Of Fubon’s four core values – "integrity, sincerity, professionalism and innovation" – integrity is paramount. To foster a corporate culture that champions integrity and a sustainable operating environment, the Company has made it a priority to promote internal ethics norms and oversight and prevention mechanisms. The Corporate Governance and Sustainability Committee is responsible for supervising progress on ethical management initiatives, and the Corporate Governance team under the Committee’s ESG Task Force was put in charge of promoting ethical management practices. The team helps ensure that integrity and ethics are at the heart of management policies. The ESG Task Force reports to the Board of Directors on progress on ESG initiatives every six months.

Policies and Plans

The Company has consistently sought to strengthen its ethical norms to foster an ethical management environment while at the same time meeting its governance responsibilities to maintain the integrity of free markets. To achieve those goals, a "Code of Ethical Conduct" establishing standards of conduct for board directors and executives was established in 2006. That was followed in 2011 by "Ethical Corporate Management Best Practice Principles" for Company employees, subsidiaries, or Group companies or organizations with substantive control in the Company’s operations. The principles stipulate that before the Company engages in business with another party it should consider the ethical practices of the supplier or transaction partner to avoid doing business with entities involved in unethical behavior. They also mandate that when entering into a contract with another party, the contract shall include clauses that require compliance with ethical management policies and allow the Company to terminate or rescind the contract if the other party is involved in unethical conduct. The principles and subsequent revisions have been reported at shareholders’ meetings as a sign of the Company’s commitment to ethical management practices and policies.

With the growing adoption of ethical management norms at home and abroad, the Company revised its internal guidelines at the beginning of 2017 and also established "Procedures for Ethical Management and Guidelines for Conduct." These procedures ban corruption, bribes, and antitrust practices, and prohibit illegal political contributions, improper charitable donations and sponsorships, and insider trading. They also cover codes of conduct for conflict of interest avoidance, intellectual property rights and fair competition, and lay down training and internal control mechanisms.

Under the principle of “integrity", Fubon Financial Holdings also adopts preventative measures for business activities with higher risk of dishonest behavior. The internal management regulations include "Donation Management Policy" and "Financial Consumer Protection Management Guidelines" to further ensure that every donation is monitored and managed. The "Donation Procedure Management Regulations" was established in January 2019 to inspect donation procedures and track the use of donated funds through clear management practices. Also, in response to the increasingly important international issue of money laundering, we have established the “Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AML/ CFT) Program" to prevent money laundering and help track down major crime. The "Employee Work Rules" of the Company and subsidiaries also clearly stipulate that employees must follow honest obligations.

Fubon Financial Holdings has formulated a clearly-defined system for ensuring the avoidance of conflicts of interests among directors. In addition to requiring directors to avoid certain situations stipulated by relevant laws and regulations, it also stipulates that directors shall independently recuse themselves if a potential conflict exists for various issues, including: matters involving the appointment of a manager of the Company or a board director or supervisor of a subsidiary, matters involving the lifting of non-competition restrictions, and the like. In addition, in order to implement relevant regulations governing how Fubon Financial Holdings and its subsidiaries may conduct transactions, the interests of the Company are given priority and fair trade principles are respected to prevent the pursuit of personal gain, please refer to page 41–44 of the 2018 Annual Report.

Commitment and Execution

1. Outside Engagement

Aside from posting policy statements on ethical management on the Company’ s website, Fubon has established a "Supplier Corporate Social Responsibility Code of Conduct" to encourage suppliers of the financial holding company and its subsidiaries to take their social responsibility seriously. Also, ethical behavior clauses are written into contracts with outside parties so that customers and business partners are made clearly aware of ethical management concepts.

Furthermore, in accordance with the TWSE's "Stewardship Principles for Institutional Investors" and the "increase the signings by institutional investors of the Stewardship Principles for Institutional Investors" part of FSC's "Corporate Governance Roadmap", all subsidiaries under Fubon Financial Holdings have become signatories by the end of 2018, and the signing progress is faster than the target set by competent authorities.

Type Signatories Endorsement Date
Investment Trust Fubon Securities Investment Trust 2016/8/10
Banking Taipei Fubon Bank 2018/6/28
Securities Company Fubon Securities 2018/6/30
Insurance Fubon Life 2018/10/26
Fubon Insurance 2018/11/2

2. Training and Evaluations

Fubon Financial Holdings and its subsidiaries provide training on standards of conduct and compliance to all new hires, and arrange compliance classes for all employees and internal control management training for supervisors. This comprehensive education and training ingrains such core values as integrity and discipline into employee culture.

Fubon Financial Holdings organizes mandatory digital classes for new personnel on the "Money Laundering Control Act" and "Personal Information Protection Act " and added three new classes on legal compliance: "Three Lines of Defense for Internal Control and Legal Compliance System", "Employee Legal Education and Prevention of Financial Fraud", "Critical Rules of the Financial Holding Company Act and Case Studies of Violations and Penalties". To ensure learning efficacy, all newly-hired employees must complete these classes and take a standardized test. In 2018, nearly 100% of new employees passed the risk management and legal compliance courses.

For supervisors, all basic level and mid-to-high level supervisors are required in 2018 to participate in courses on issues such as development trends of Fintech and Regtech and information security management practice. Newly-appointed supervisors were also required to complete classes on "Labor Laws and Regulations and Labor Inspection Practices" and "Three Lines of Defense Management System for Internal Control". These efforts instill knowledge of risk control among management personnel. The overall completion rate for the training was 99%.

The Company also regularly organizes mandatory training on risk management for all employees, with subjects including the "Personal Information Protection Act", "Money Laundering Control Act", and information security, in order to continuously enhance understanding of ethical and legal concepts among employees.

To comprehensively increase awareness and understanding of ethical conduct among all colleagues in Fubon Financial Holdings, we organized a digital class on "Ethical Conduct Guidelines" and required employees to sign an accompanying ethics pledge. The content covers the ban on offering and accepting bribes, how to avoid conflicts of interest, confidentiality, fiduciary duty to stakeholders, establishing ethical business relationships, and procedures for encouraging the reporting of unethical conduct. After completing the classes, colleagues must sign the ethics pledge and agree to comply with the ethical conduct principles. In 2018, 100% employee completed the training and signed an agreement to comply with the terms of the "Ethical Conduct Guidelines". In the future, we will regularly implement the program to ensure that employees continue to maintain a strong grasp of concepts and approaches to ethical conduct.

The importance of values also permeates Fubon’s evaluation system. Not only evaluations of the Board of Directors and its members that assess their support for the Company’s core values to evaluations but all Fubon employees have criteria related to "integrity". Fubon employees’ individual evaluations include "internal audit and control indicators" that look at "annual compliance evaluation" and "annual special audit" results and whether an employee has violated internal control, compliance or operational risk rules. The Company will remain firmly committed to deepening the roots of ethical management concepts in all areas of the organization and promoting Fubon’s sustainable development.

In order to strengthen employee compliance and respect for the process of business practice to comply with the Company’s internal control system, the Company has formulated the "Employee Oversight Management Guidelines" and the "Internal Control Violation Accountability and Punishment Guidelines" to define oversights, assign accountability, establish authority, and issue penalties, implementing risk management into the work of employees, leading them to pay attention to risk prevention for transactions and administrative business.

3. Whistleblower Mechanism

Fubon Financial Holdings has a trustworthy and effective whistleblower mechanism to ensure legal compliance and risk detection. It also shows how the Company values ethical management. In order to fully implement the whistleblower mechanism, the Company has set up multiple reporting channels, all with special personnel assigned to process complaints.

Internally, the Company has established the "Ethical Management Procedure and Behavioral Guidelines" with clear encouragements for internal personnel to follow and report dishonest or inappropriate conduct; There is also the "Employee Complaint and Handling Guidelines". Employees can use the internal employee mailbox to give feedback about the company system, employee benefits, internal control mechanisms, improvements made to risk management procedures, or report unlawful behavior. These complaints are all handled by special personnel who will categorize and process them by order of importance. Relevant regulations clearly stipulate that the person who made the complaint and the personnel handling the case must keep things confidential to establish the fairness and credibility of the whistleblower system. All 2018 complaints were processed according to these guidelines.

Externally, the Company’s official website includes the "Independent Director Mailbox" and "Complaint Mailbox" pages. Investors, clients, and other stakeholders can use the phone, email, or fax to communicate or report misconduct. These complaints will be processed by special personnel in accordance with internal procedures. In addition, the Board of Directors of Fubon Financial Holdings passed the "Whistleblowing Policy" in August, 2018, clearly stipulating that anyone who discovers that managers or employees of the Company or its subsidiaries have committed a crime, cheated, or broke the law can report it to the "Compliance Department of the Company's Compliance and Legal Affairs Division" through the "report mailbox" on the official website.

The "Whistleblowing Policy” stipulates that after a complaint is received, excluding cases that are not accepted or transferred, the President should evaluate the situation of the report and appoint a unit or assign at least three people to form an independent investigation committee to investigate the matter. The investigation unit should present a report of their findings within the allotted time limit. After the findings have been approved by authorizing units/personnel, the investigation unit shall notify the whistleblower of the results.

Also, from the moment the complaint was received, any person involved in or aware of the reported case must keep the relevant information of the case, the person being accused, and the identity of the whistleblower confidential. Violators will be penalized according to the Company's internal regulations. The Company and its subsidiaries must not dismiss, relieve of duty, demote, impose salary cuts, take away benefits entitled under laws, contracts or customary practices, or impose adverse treatments of any kind on whistleblowers because of the reports they filed.

In 2018, the Company and subsidiaries received a total of three complaints in the report mailbox, none of which concerned corruption or lack of ethics. The complaints were mainly about business service disputes or optimization of operating procedures. Those reported have been notified of relevant matters.

Communication Channels for Stakeholders or Whistleblowers

誠信經營

富邦金控企業核心價值「誠信、親切、專業、創新」首重「誠信」,為樹立誠信經營之企業文化,打造永續經營環境,富邦金控針對建立內部倫理規範及監督預防機制不遺餘力,並以董事會所屬之「公司治理及永續委員會」負責監督誠信經營之執行結果,並由該委員會下設ESG執行小組之公司治理工作小組負責誠信經營相關事宜之推動,協助將誠信與道德價值融入公司經營策略,並每半年向董事會提出執行成果報告。

政策及方案

為不斷強化企業內部之道德倫理規範以建立誠信經營環境,並積極落實企業所應擔負之治理責任確保自由市場運作,本公司不僅於2006年即制定「道德行為準則」規範董事及經理人之道德標準,2011年制定「誠信經營守則」以本公司之受僱人、子公司與具有實質控制力之集團企業或組織為規範對象,同時規定公司於商業往來之前,應考量供應商或其他往來對象之誠信情形,避免與涉有不誠信行為者進行交易;與他人簽約時,應包含遵守誠信經營政策及交易相對人如涉不誠信行為時,本公司得隨時終止或解除契約之條款。該守則並提股東會報告,以彰顯公司積極落實誠信經營之承諾及政策理念。

因應國內外誠信經營規範之發展,本公司於2017年初進行內部規範之修正,增訂「誠信經營作業程序及行為指南」,內容涵蓋反貪腐、反賄賂、反壟斷、反托拉斯、禁止提供非法政治獻金、禁止不當慈善捐贈或贊助、禁止內線交易等防範方案,並針對利益迴避、智慧財產權、公平競爭等制定紀律守則,亦訂有教育訓練及內部監控機制。

在「誠信」的原則下,富邦金控針對營業範圍內具較高不誠信行為風險之營業活動亦採行防範措施,除訂有「捐贈管理政策」及「金融消費者保護管理準則」等內控規章,對於洗錢防制,制訂了「防制洗錢與打擊資助恐怖主義(AML/CFT)計劃」,以達防制洗錢並協助追查重大犯罪的目的,本公司及各子公司之「員工工作規則」亦明確規定員工應遵循之誠實義務。

富邦金控針對董事之利益迴避訂有明確制度,除依相關法令規定事項須迴避外,亦明定有董事應自行迴避之事項,如:涉及擔任本公司經理人或子公司董監事派任、涉及解除競業責任等。此外,為了落實執行本公司及子公司對利害關係人交易相關規範,以公司利益為優先並確保公平交易原則,避免圖私利之機會,請參見2018年報3.4.1董事會運作情形其他應記載事項(2)第34-36頁。

承諾與執行

一、 對外宣示

富邦金控不僅於公司網站揭露所訂定之誠信相關政策,並制定「供應商企業社會責任守則」,期許本公司及子公司之合作廠商共同為企業社會責任努力,在與他人簽訂契約時,亦納入誠信相關條款,俾使客戶、業務合作夥伴清楚瞭解誠信經營之理念。

另為配合證交所發佈「機構投資人盡職治理守則」與金管會「新版公司治理藍圖」之「提升機構投資人盡職治理守則之簽署家數及其盡職治理資訊揭露品質」之目標,金控旗下子公司均已於2018年底前完成簽署,簽署進度優於主管機關所定之目標。

產業類別 公司名 簽署日期
證券投資信託公司 富邦投信 2016/8/10
銀行業 北富銀 2018/6/28
證券商 富邦證券 2018/6/30
保險公司 富邦人壽 2018/10/26
富邦產物 2018/11/2

二、 教育訓練及考核

富邦金控及子公司每年定期對新進人員進行紀律規範宣導說明及法令遵循教育訓練,並舉辦全員遵法課程暨主管內控管理訓練,透過全面教育訓練宣導落實員工誠信、嚴守紀律的經營理念。

在新進人員方面,富邦金控規劃有「洗錢防制法」、「個人資料保護法」必修數位課程,以及「內部控制三道防線及法令遵循制度」、「員工法治教育及防範金融舞弊」、「金控法重要規範及裁罰案例」等法令遵循課程,新進同仁須依課程通過標準完成課程與測驗,以確保學習成效,2018年新進人員在風控與法遵相關課程之平均通過率近100%。

針對主管,2018年全金控基層及中、高階主管均須參與金融監管科技發展趨勢、資訊安全管理實務等相關議題之課程,新任主管則須完成「勞動法令與勞檢實務」、「內控三道防線的管理機制」課程,以建立主管風險管控的思維,其整體完訓率達99%。

在全體同仁方面,我們也會定期實施全員必修之風險管理相關訓練,包括個人資料保護法、洗錢防制法及資訊安全宣導等,以持續強化員工道德與法治觀念。

為全面提升富邦金控全體同仁對誠信行為之認知,我們規劃「誠信行為指南」數位課程與簽署行動,其內容包涵禁止行賄及收賄、利益迴避、保密、禁止損害利害關係人權益、建立誠信之商業關係、鼓勵舉報不誠信行為之程序,同仁須於課程閱讀後簽署承諾並同意遵循誠信行為。2018年全體近100%同仁均完成訓練並簽署同意遵循「誠信行為指南」,未來將定期實施以持續落實同仁對誠信行為之觀念與態度。

從董事會及各成員之評核項目包含對公司核心價值觀至全體員工績效考核皆設有「誠信」項目。全體員工績效考核個人目標中包含「內稽內控作業指標」,衡量員工在「發生違反內稽內控、法令遵循及作業風險事項的缺失」、「年度法令遵循執行考核結果」、「年度稽核專案查核」的各項表現。本公司透過在各面向的不斷努力務求將誠信經營在企業內生根,促進企業永續發展。

為強化同仁遵循、重視業務執行過程,以符合公司各項內部控制制度,公司制訂「員工疏失管理準則」、「內控違失案件人員責任歸屬與懲處準則」,以定義疏失、懲處責任之歸屬、權責界定、懲處等,將風險管理貫徹於同仁工作中,引導同仁重視交易與行政作業面之風險防制。

三、 吹哨者機制

富邦金控設有可信任且有效的吹哨者機制,以確保法令遵循與風險偵測,並能展現對誠信經營的重視。為落實吹哨者機制,本公司亦設有多種檢舉管道,均有專人受理。

對內,本公司制定「誠信經營作業程序及行為指南」明定鼓勵內部人員檢舉不誠信或不當行為之處理程序,以利檢舉人遵循;另有「員工意見申訴及處理準則」,同仁可透過內部員工意見信箱反映公司制度、員工福利、內控機制、風險管理相關改善程序、檢舉不法之行為等,其申訴案件均由專人依情節輕重將事件分級並依程序有效處理,相關規章皆明定申訴人及處理案件之相關人員均須對案件盡絕對保密之義務,以建立吹哨者機制之公正性及可信度,2018年之員工申訴案件均依循準則有效處理。

對外,公司於官方網頁設有「獨立董事信箱」、「申訴信箱」專頁,投資人、客戶及其他利害關係人可透過電話、電子信箱、傳真等多種溝通或檢舉管道舉發不當行為,其申訴案件均由專人依內部程序妥善處理。此外,富邦金控董事會於2018年8月通過制定「檢舉處理政策」,明訂任何人發現本公司、子公司或其轄下之負責人或員工有犯罪、舞弊或違反法令之虞,可透過官網設置之「檢舉信箱」,向本公司受理單位「法遵暨法務處法令遵循部」檢舉。

依「檢舉處理政策」規定,受理單位接獲檢舉後,除有不受理或移轉案件之情形外,應由總經理依案件情形指派特定單位、或另指派特定人員組成三人以上具獨立行使職權之調查委員會進行調查。本公司調查單位應於所訂期限內提出調查結果報告,經有權單位/人員核定後,將調查結果通知檢舉人。

此外,自受理單位接獲檢舉案件開始,任何涉及或知悉檢舉案件之人員,必須對於檢舉案件內容、被檢舉人及檢舉人身分等相關資料保密,違反者將依公司內部相關規範懲處;另本公司、子公司不得因所檢舉案件而對檢舉人予以解僱、解任、降調、減薪、損害其依法令、契約或習慣上所應享有之權益,或其他不利處分。

2018年本公司及子公司之檢舉信箱共收到3件檢舉案件,並無涉及貪腐或誠信相關的案件,主要屬於業務服務爭議或作業流程之精進,已就相關事項回覆被檢舉人。

本公司利害關係人溝通及吹哨者管道